Co-Organized by UIUC, NUS, NTU, SIT & A*STAR.


Sustainable, safe, and nutritious food supply is indispensable for human well-being. This workshop seeks views from the community to identify technological solutions for the cost-effective and sustainable production of safe, nutritious, and delicious foods through precision fermentation and food/bioprocessing backed by synthetic biology and systems-level optimization. Currently, alternative meats and animal products are produced from three protein sources: cultivated meats, plant-based products, and mycoproteins. The vision of the workshop seeks to identify the formulation of various food ingredients manufactured by precision fermentation, that is necessary to improve the sensory and functional properties of alternative meats and animal products. This workshop further seeks inclusive efforts to support Singapore’s initiatives for food security and sustainability while advancing the fundamental sciences to implement sustainable food systems for urban populations.

Promises and Challenges of Precision Fermentation

Promises and Challenges of Precision Fermentation Precision fermentation backed by metabolic engineering, synthetic biology, and bioprocess optimization can enable the production of food ingredients and fermented foods. Many startup companies aiming to produce biomolecules capable of providing nutrients, tastes, and textures of foods are commercializing precision fermentation. Nonetheless, more scientific and technological advances will be necessary to improve the safety, economics, sustainability, and consumer reception of precision fermentation. Specifically, food grade microbial host strains, novel food processing technologies, and resource recycling systems will need to be developed for successful implementation of precision fermentation.

Speakers and Panelists:

1. Professor Yong-Su Jin, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

2. Professor Michael Miller, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

3. Professor Jeremy Guest, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

4. Professor Na Wei, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

5. Dr Yalin Li, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

6. Professor Wen Shan Yew, National University of Singapore

7. Professor Matthew Chang, National University of Singapore

8. Professor Chueh Loo Poh, National University of Singapore

9. Professor Shao Quan Liu, National University of Singapore

10. Professor Bin Cao, Nanyang Technological University

11. Dr Melanie Weingarten, A*STAR

12. Dr Yee Hwee Lim, A*STAR

13. Professor Won Jae Choi, Singapore Institute of Technology

14. Susanna Leong, Singapore Institute of Technology


9 am to 9.10 am:             Intro by Yong-Su and Wen Shan

9.10 am to 9.20 am:       Short talk by Professor Yong-Su Jin

9.20 am to 9.30 am:       Short talk by Professor Michael Miller

9.30 am to 9.40 am:       Short talk by Professor Jeremy Guest and Dr Yalin Li

9.40 am to 9.50 am:       Short talk by Professor Na Wei

9.50 am to 10 am:          Short talk by Professor Wen Shan Yew

10 am to 10.10 am:        Short talk by Professors Cao Bin

10.10 am to 10.20 am:   Short talk by Professor Won Jae Choi

10.20 am to 11.20 am:   Tea-Break**

11.20 am to 12 pm:        Workshop Panel* Discussion

(*Panelists: Professors Yong-Su Jin, Wen Shan Yew, Matthew Chang, Chueh Loo Poh, Cao Bin, Dr Melanie Weingarten & Dr Yee Hwee Lim)

Please note that catering will be provided during the Tea-Break.